Sun. 13 June 2021 – 19:30

We love Arnold Schönberg

Everybody is fond of Haydn. Now it's time to love Schönberg as well.

Michael Gieler and his colleagues from the Concertgebouw Orchestra present a piece that is unfortunately not performed enough: Arnold Schönberg's second string quartet, in which a soprano joins the ensemble as the fifth voice. The work is late romantic and has autobiographical features.

Joseph Haydn: String Quartet op.76 / 3
"Emperor" Arnold Schönberg: 2nd String Quartet

Schoch Quartet:
Ursula Schoch, 1st violin
Jane Piper, 2nd violin
Michael Gieler, viola
Joris van den Berg, cello
Marleen Asberg, soprano