Please select a page for the Contact Slideout in Theme Options > Header Options

Gesti Festival
Conservatorium van Amsterdam

Gesti Festival
Conservatorium van Amsterdam

Gesti Festival
Conservatorium van Amsterdam

Sat, 17 December 2016 | 09:30 hour


Sat, 17 December 2016 | 09:30 hour

Toegang Gratis

Save in agenda


The evolution of the blockflute over the past 60 years can only be described as fascinating. Crucial to the this development is the masterpiece Gesti, written by Luciano Berio in 1966, for blockflutist Frans Brüggen. The year 2016 marks the fifty year anniversary of Gesti. This project is an ode to Berio’s series of fifteen Sequenzas, seminal works that irrevocably altered the ‘musical grammar’ of the instruments and singers he write for. Here we have chosen four different Sequenzas from the series, with Gesti at the centre. Next to these, composer and live electronics specialist Jos Zwaanenburg created a new work for blockflute and live electronics inspired by Gesti, and a selection of composition students from the Conservatorium van Amsterdam have written new Sequenza-style pieces. Movements of Die Kunst der Fuge by J.S. Bach (1685-1750) will act as short interludes between the contemporary works, letting the listener digest what they have just heard, and refreshing the ears for the next.

Program December the 17th:

09:30 Analysis Sequenza XIII ‘Chanson’ (accordeon) by Marko Kassl
10:00 Masterclass Sequenza XIII ‘Chanson’ (accordeon) by Marko Kassl
10:45 Presentation Sequenza XIII ‘Chanson’ for accordeon
11:00 Bach Kunst der Fuge
11:30 Masterclass Gesti by Kees Boeke. Participant: Sarah Jeffery
12:00 Performance Gesti by Sarah Jeffery
12:10 Bach Canon alla Decima, performed by Walter van Hauwe and Kees Boeke
12:20 Masterclass Gesti by Walter van Hsuwe. Participant: Lucia Horsch
12:50 Performance Gesti by Lucie Horsch

14:00 Forum / discussion

19:30 CONCERT:

  • Luciano Berio: Gesti (1966)
    Walter van Hauwe – tenor blockflute
  • Jos Zwaanenburg (1958): Signs (2016) world premiere
    Jorge Isaac – blockflutes & electronics
  • J.S. Bach fugue in g minor ‘Little Fugue’ by Ward Swingle (BMW 578)
    Claron McFadden & vocal ensemble
  • Luciano Berio: Sequenza V for trombone (1966)
    Jörgen van Rijen – trombone
  • Adam Łukawski (1997): Speech of Avenice (2016) world premiere
    Juho Myllylä – blockflute
    Elisabeth Hetherington – voice


  • Bach Canon alla Decima – Contrapuncto alla Terza
    Walter van Hauwe & Kees Boeke – blockflutes
  • Luciano Berio: Altra Voce (1999)
    Jos Zwaanenburg – flute & live electronics
    Laura Giavon – voice
    Patricia Roa Johansen – live electronics operator
  • Luciano Berio: Gesti (1966)
    Kees Boeke – alto blockflute
  • Luciano Berio: Rounds (1965)
    Goska Isphording – harpsichord
    Claron McFadden – voice
  • Luciano Berio: Sequenza III for voice (1966)
    Claron McFadden – voice
Mail dit concert

Mail dit concert