Thu. 24 March 2022 – 20:30
Wilbert Bulsink

Ensemble Modelo62

Brand new music about plasma lamps, telephone frequencies and ordinary cardboard boxes

With its ambitious and often interdisciplinary projects, Ensemble Modelo62 has gained an international reputation in the contemporary experimental music. Modelo62 loves to collaborate with well-known composers as well as with young, upcoming talents, and the individual players are everything but afraid of bold experimentations. For the Intercity Sessions, the group dives into the laboratory with four composers: Maurizio Tedde (IT) and Sól Ey Sigurjónsdóttir (ICE) graduated during the pandemic, while Christina Viola Oorebeek (NL/VS) and Cecilia Arditto (ARG) already have a lively career as composers and creators. Tesla's plasma lamp, extremes in light and sound, telephone frequencies and ordinary cardboard boxes formed the inspiration for these newest works that were created for Ensemble Modelo62.

A plasma ball – one of those neon lamps in which you can see electricity in action – formed the entry point for 'Neon Study #1 ~ripple lights~ by Christina Viola Oorebeek. Her translation of these 'lightning in a lamp' into sound zooms into the moving filaments in slow motion.

Maurizio Tedde is fascinated by random interferences of radio and telephone frequencies, through which you occasionally catch snippets of other conversations, music or white noise. These interferences are brought to life as fragile and brittle sounds in his piece 'Venus Station'.

The acoustics of ordinary objects and materials has intrigued Cecilia Arditto for years. In 'Boxes', she distorts the sounds of instruments and amplifiers with the acoustics of cardboard boxes, styrofoam and metal.

'Light Again' is a piece for ensemble, lamps and microphones by the multi-sensual artist Sól Ey. She searches for extremes in light and dark, sound and silence, movement and stagnation.

Ensemble Modelo62:
Ezequiel Menalled conductor
Gemma Tripiana Muñoz flutes
Jorge López García clarinets
Chloë Abbott trumpet
Santiago Lascurain guitar
Reinier van Houdt piano
Klara van de Ketterij percussion
Roberto Rutkauskas violin
Jan Willem Troost cello
Vasilis Stefanopoulos double bass

Visit the website of Modelo62 for more information.

Intercity Sessions is made possible by het Fonds Podiumkunsten, Gemeente Den Haag and Gaudeamus.

Become a member too:

Over 100 concerts a year for € 9.99 a month.

And are you under 30? Then you only pay € 4.99.

Support Splendor!